{}Best AI Code Security

Backslash Security vs Wiz Code for AI code security

ANSWER FIRST

Backslash Security scores 3.9 and Wiz Code 3.3 on our AI code security criteria, so Backslash Security ranks higher on the published weights. Backslash leads on AI code and assistant coverage, endpoint deployment and tamper resistance and governance and policy control; Wiz Code leads on developer experience and remediation and ASPM depth; they tie on pricing and buying clarity. The widest gap is governance and policy control, where Backslash scores 5.0 against 3.0.

Editorial assessment · Compiled from vendor product, docs, pricing and marketplace pages · Rated October 2026

How do Backslash Security and Wiz Code score side by side?

Backslash Security and Wiz Code: editorial assessment, 0-5. Last reviewed October 2026.
CriterionWeightBackslash SecurityWiz CodeEdge
Coverage of AI-generated code and AI coding assistants25%4.54.0Backslash
Endpoint deployment and tamper resistance20%4.02.5Backslash
Governance and policy control for the CISO20%5.03.0Backslash
Developer experience and low friction15%3.03.5Wiz Code
Pricing and buying clarity10%2.02.0Tie
Remediation and ASPM depth10%3.04.5Wiz Code
Weighted total3.93.3

Backslash Security leads on 3 criteria, Wiz Code leads on 2, and 1 is tied.

Backslash Security

Verdict for Backslash Security: strengths and limitations

diff --verdict backslash-security · reviewed 2026-09

@@ strengths @@

  • Strength:Discovers every AI agent, MCP server, skill and plug-in across enterprise endpoints. [source]
  • Strength:Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, with inline blocking before execution. [source]
  • Strength:Forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2. [source]

@@ limitations @@

  • Limitation:Tamper resistance is not described on the pages reviewed. [source]
  • Limitation:No free product tier; AWS Marketplace lists a $75,000 annual commit. [source]

Wiz Code

Verdict for Wiz Code: strengths and limitations

diff --verdict wiz-code · reviewed 2026-09

@@ strengths @@

  • Strength:Wiz Code plugins work in Claude Code and Cursor (Wiz Code Week, April 2026). [source]
  • Strength:Aggregates findings from built-in and third-party scanners on the Wiz Security Graph. [source]
  • Strength:Pre-commit hooks catch secrets, IaC misconfigurations and vulnerabilities before source control. [source]

@@ limitations @@

  • Limitation:No endpoint agent or tamper resistance is described. [source]
  • Limitation:Sold as an add-on for Wiz Cloud, with no free tier. [source]

How do Backslash Security and Wiz Code cover AI code and coding assistants?

Backslash Security: Discovers "every AI agent, MCP server, Skill and plug-in" across enterprise endpoints, and its AWS Marketplace listing covers IDEs, CLIs, agents, MCP servers and LLMs, naming Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot. No public support list names Claude Code or Codex.

Wiz Code: Wiz Code plugins work in Claude Code and Cursor, and the AI-BOM inventories IDE extensions including Gemini Code Assist, GitHub Copilot and Cursor; discovery of MCP servers on developer machines is not described.

Assistants named on their public pages: Backslash Security: Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf; Wiz Code: Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot.

Where do their controls run on the developer machine?

Backslash Security: Positioned as "securing the agentic endpoint", with inline blocking before execution across enterprise endpoints and an MCP proxy; tamper resistance is not described.

Wiz Code: Runs as IDE scanning, agent plugins and pre-commit hooks that catch secrets, IaC misconfigurations and vulnerabilities before source control; no endpoint agent or tamper resistance is described.

How much control does the security team get?

Backslash Security: Policies scoped by user, team, endpoint or component, inline blocking, and forensics and audit evidence for the EU AI Act, NIS2, DORA and SOC 2.

Wiz Code: Findings and the AI-BOM sit in the Wiz platform, with SAST rules mapped to the OWASP Top 10 for LLM and for Agentic Applications; policy to allow or block specific coding agents or MCP servers is not described.

How do they fit the developer's workflow?

Backslash Security: No free product tier or self-serve start; a free, read-only AI Endpoint Exposure Assessment is offered.

Wiz Code: Fixes land in the IDE, pull requests or CI/CD, and Wiz Skills let coding agents pull issues and apply fixes; there is no free tier and Wiz Code is sold as an add-on for Wiz Cloud.

How do they fix and prioritize findings?

Backslash Security: The AppGraph engine runs SAST, SCA and secrets scanning; fix generation and risk prioritization are not described on the pages reviewed.

Wiz Code: Aggregates findings from built-in and third-party scanners (SAST, SCA, DAST), models CI/CD pipelines on the Wiz Security Graph, and the Wiz Green Agent applies fixes in the IDE.

How do they compare on price?

Backslash Security: free tier: No (free read-only AI Endpoint Exposure Assessment); lowest published paid option: AWS Marketplace: $75,000 annual commit, 12 months (marketplace price); pricing unit: Annual commit.

Wiz Code: free tier: Not stated; lowest published paid option: AWS Marketplace: $58,500 for 100 licenses, 12 months, add-on for Wiz Cloud (marketplace price); pricing unit: Licenses.

Source: Backslash Security pricing · Reviewed Sep 2026

Source: Wiz Code pricing · Reviewed Sep 2026

Which should you choose?

Choose Backslash Security if governance and policy control and AI code and assistant coverage matter most: Backslash scores 5.0 and 4.5 there, against 3.0 and 4.0 for Wiz Code. Choose Wiz Code if remediation and ASPM depth and developer experience matter most: Wiz Code scores 4.5 and 3.5 there, against 3.0 and 3.0 for Backslash.

Frequently asked questions

Is Backslash Security or Wiz Code better for AI code security?

Backslash Security scores 3.9 and Wiz Code 3.3 on our AI code security criteria, so Backslash Security ranks higher on the published weights. Backslash leads on 3 of 6 criteria and Wiz Code on 2; 1 is tied. Which is better depends on which criteria matter most to you; the calculator on this site re-weights them.

How do Backslash Security and Wiz Code price their plans?

Backslash Security: free tier: No (free read-only AI Endpoint Exposure Assessment); lowest published paid option: AWS Marketplace: $75,000 annual commit, 12 months (marketplace price). Wiz Code: free tier: Not stated; lowest published paid option: AWS Marketplace: $58,500 for 100 licenses, 12 months, add-on for Wiz Cloud (marketplace price). Prices as published on vendor pages and marketplace listings, reviewed 2026-10-11.

Which AI coding assistants do Backslash Security and Wiz Code name?

On the pages we reviewed, Backslash Security names Cursor, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf and Wiz Code names Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot. 'Not named' means we did not find the assistant on the vendor's pages; it does not prove the tool cannot work with it.

Read the full reviews

Where next?

More head-to-heads

Sources reviewed

Last reviewed October 2026. Editorial assessment from public vendor material; no hands-on testing.