GitHub Advanced Security vs Wiz Code for AI code security
ANSWER FIRST
GitHub Advanced Security scores 2.9 and Wiz Code 3.3 on our AI code security criteria, so Wiz Code ranks higher on the published weights. GHAS leads on developer experience and pricing and buying clarity; Wiz Code leads on AI code and assistant coverage, endpoint deployment and tamper resistance, governance and policy control and remediation and ASPM depth. The widest gap is pricing and buying clarity, where GHAS scores 4.5 against 2.0.
Editorial assessment · Compiled from vendor product, docs, pricing and marketplace pages · Rated October 2026
How do GitHub Advanced Security and Wiz Code score side by side?
| Criterion | Weight | GitHub Advanced Security | Wiz Code | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coverage of AI-generated code and AI coding assistants | 25% | 3.0 | 4.0 | Wiz Code |
| Endpoint deployment and tamper resistance | 20% | 1.5 | 2.5 | Wiz Code |
| Governance and policy control for the CISO | 20% | 2.0 | 3.0 | Wiz Code |
| Developer experience and low friction | 15% | 4.5 | 3.5 | GHAS |
| Pricing and buying clarity | 10% | 4.5 | 2.0 | GHAS |
| Remediation and ASPM depth | 10% | 3.5 | 4.5 | Wiz Code |
| Weighted total | 2.9 | 3.3 |
GitHub Advanced Security leads on 2 criteria, Wiz Code leads on 4, and 0 are tied.
GitHub Advanced Security
diff --verdict github-advanced-security · reviewed 2026-09
@@ strengths @@
- Strength:Published prices: GitHub Secret Protection $19 and GitHub Code Security $30 per active committer per month. [source]
- Strength:Copilot coding agent runs CodeQL, Advisory Database and secret scanning checks on its own changes, no GHAS license needed. [source]
- Strength:Push protection blocks commits that contain secrets; AI-detected secrets included. [source]
- Strength:Copilot Autofix suggests fixes for code scanning alerts. [source]
@@ limitations @@
Wiz Code
diff --verdict wiz-code · reviewed 2026-09
@@ strengths @@
- Strength:Wiz Code plugins work in Claude Code and Cursor (Wiz Code Week, April 2026). [source]
- Strength:Aggregates findings from built-in and third-party scanners on the Wiz Security Graph. [source]
- Strength:Pre-commit hooks catch secrets, IaC misconfigurations and vulnerabilities before source control. [source]
@@ limitations @@
How do GitHub Advanced Security and Wiz Code cover AI code and coding assistants?
GitHub Advanced Security: CodeQL scans every pull request whoever wrote it, and the Copilot coding agent checks its own changes; Copilot is the only assistant named, and there is no discovery of other agents or MCP servers.
Wiz Code: Wiz Code plugins work in Claude Code and Cursor, and the AI-BOM inventories IDE extensions including Gemini Code Assist, GitHub Copilot and Cursor; discovery of MCP servers on developer machines is not described.
Assistants named on their public pages: GitHub Advanced Security: GitHub Copilot; Wiz Code: Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot.
Where do their controls run on the developer machine?
GitHub Advanced Security: Runs on GitHub at push and pull request; no endpoint agent is described.
Wiz Code: Runs as IDE scanning, agent plugins and pre-commit hooks that catch secrets, IaC misconfigurations and vulnerabilities before source control; no endpoint agent or tamper resistance is described.
How much control does the security team get?
GitHub Advanced Security: Organization-level security overview, campaigns and push protection; agent checks cover GitHub's own Copilot coding agent, not third-party assistants.
Wiz Code: Findings and the AI-BOM sit in the Wiz platform, with SAST rules mapped to the OWASP Top 10 for LLM and for Agentic Applications; policy to allow or block specific coding agents or MCP servers is not described.
How do they fit the developer's workflow?
GitHub Advanced Security: Native to pull requests on GitHub.
Wiz Code: Fixes land in the IDE, pull requests or CI/CD, and Wiz Skills let coding agents pull issues and apply fixes; there is no free tier and Wiz Code is sold as an add-on for Wiz Cloud.
How do they fix and prioritize findings?
GitHub Advanced Security: Copilot Autofix suggests fixes and security campaigns organize remediation; no reachability or business-context scoring is described.
Wiz Code: Aggregates findings from built-in and third-party scanners (SAST, SCA, DAST), models CI/CD pipelines on the Wiz Security Graph, and the Wiz Green Agent applies fixes in the IDE.
How do they compare on price?
GitHub Advanced Security: free tier: Free for public repositories (code scanning, secret scanning, Dependabot alerts); lowest published paid option: $19 (Secret Protection) or $30 (Code Security) per active committer per month; pricing unit: Active committer.
Wiz Code: free tier: Not stated; lowest published paid option: AWS Marketplace: $58,500 for 100 licenses, 12 months, add-on for Wiz Cloud (marketplace price); pricing unit: Licenses.
Source: GitHub Advanced Security pricing · Reviewed Sep 2026
Source: Wiz Code pricing · Reviewed Sep 2026
Which should you choose?
Choose GitHub Advanced Security if developer experience and pricing and buying clarity matter most: GHAS scores 4.5 and 4.5 there, against 3.5 and 2.0 for Wiz Code. Choose Wiz Code if remediation and ASPM depth and AI code and assistant coverage matter most: Wiz Code scores 4.5 and 4.0 there, against 3.5 and 3.0 for GHAS.
Frequently asked questions
Is GitHub Advanced Security or Wiz Code better for AI code security?
GitHub Advanced Security scores 2.9 and Wiz Code 3.3 on our AI code security criteria, so Wiz Code ranks higher on the published weights. GHAS leads on 2 of 6 criteria and Wiz Code on 4; 0 are tied. Which is better depends on which criteria matter most to you; the calculator on this site re-weights them.
How do GitHub Advanced Security and Wiz Code price their plans?
GitHub Advanced Security: free tier: Free for public repositories (code scanning, secret scanning, Dependabot alerts); lowest published paid option: $19 (Secret Protection) or $30 (Code Security) per active committer per month. Wiz Code: free tier: Not stated; lowest published paid option: AWS Marketplace: $58,500 for 100 licenses, 12 months, add-on for Wiz Cloud (marketplace price). Prices as published on vendor pages and marketplace listings, reviewed 2026-10-11.
Which AI coding assistants do GitHub Advanced Security and Wiz Code name?
On the pages we reviewed, GitHub Advanced Security names GitHub Copilot and Wiz Code names Claude Code, Cursor and GitHub Copilot. 'Not named' means we did not find the assistant on the vendor's pages; it does not prove the tool cannot work with it.
Read the full reviews
Where next?
- GitHub Advanced Security alternatives
- Wiz Code alternatives
- Compare GitHub Advanced Security and Wiz Code with other tools
- Re-weight the criteria in the calculator
More head-to-heads
- Legit Security vs Wiz Code
- Legit Security vs GitHub Advanced Security
- Snyk vs Wiz Code
- GitHub Advanced Security vs Snyk
- Backslash Security vs Wiz Code
- Backslash Security vs GitHub Advanced Security
Sources reviewed
GitHub Advanced Security
Last reviewed October 2026. Editorial assessment from public vendor material; no hands-on testing.